RealLoanRate

Section: Europe (for non-EU citizens) · Change country

Home › Portugal D7, Spain non-lucrative and more: EU own-income permits

Estimate only — not legal, tax or immigration advice. Only the official authority's decision is binding.

Portugal D7, Spain non-lucrative and more: EU own-income permits

Updated

What are the Portugal D7 visa requirements?

Portugal's D7 asks for a stable income from a pension or other passive income of at least €920 a month in 2026 (the national minimum wage), plus €460 for each further adult and €276 per child. The permit can be cancelled if you are away from Portugal for six months in a row or eight months in total during its validity — not a “183 days a year” rule, which is Spain's. Naturalisation now needs 10 years of legal residence for most non-EU nationals (Organic Law 1/2026).

What are the Portugal D7 visa requirements — EU · amounts in euros (€)
Portugal D7Spain non-lucrative
Income, you€920 a month (€11,040 a year)€2,400 a month (€28,800 a year)
Each family member+€460 adult, +€276 child+€600
Time abroadCancellable after 6 months in a row or 8 in totalRenewal needs more than 183 days a year in Spain

Official rule: Portugal: a temporary residence permit (D7, D8 and others) may be cancelled if the holder is away from Portugal, without good reason, for 6 consecutive months or 8 non-consecutive months within the permit's total validity; a permanent permit after 24 months in a row or 30 months within 3 years (Law 23/2007 art. 85(2), consolidated version). Longer absences must be justified by a request filed before leaving (art. 85(3)). (source, checked 2026-10-19)

If you live on a pension, rent, dividends or savings, sixteen EU countries offer a permit for people with their own means — usually with no right to work. On official pages the income tests run from €920 a month (Portugal D7) and €1,477.93 (France) to €2,400 (Spain), €2,616.78 (Austria, quota), €3,500 (Greece) and about €4,167 (Ireland, €50,000 a year).

Information only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Rules change often — confirm with the country's migration authority or a licensed lawyer there before you pay anything. We are not an agent or a lawyer, we sell nothing and recommend no firm. Last checked: 13 Oct 2026. Figures marked verify come from a law firm, a copy of the law or a single source rather than the official page.
Use the basis the route asks for (net or gross) — shown under the result.
That income is
Family on the application
Income needed€920 a month€11,040 a year
Your income€920 a monthMeets the test

    Not a valid document. Estimate for information only — not legal, tax or immigration advice. Rules change often and errors are possible. Confirm every figure with a licensed lawyer in the country before you pay anything.

    Spain non-lucrative visa: requirements

    For living in Spain without working: €2,400 a month for you (400% of the IPREM index, €600 in 2026) and €600 for each family member, shown for the whole period of the permit — €28,800 for one year alone, €36,000 for a couple — plus health insurance; the permit does not allow work. To renew you must have lived in Spain for more than 183 days in the calendar year; a renewed permit runs for two years (Royal Decree 1155/2024, arts. 61–64). Spain no longer has a golden visa: every investor route, including property, closed on 3 April 2025.

    Every own-income route with a published figure

    Every own-income route with a published figure — EU · amounts in euros (€)
    CountryRouteIncome needed (one person)FamilyNotes
    Portugalpension or passive income€920 a month
    €11,040 a year · net, stable
    +€460 spouse; +€276 per child100% of the minimum wage for you, 50% for each further adult, 30% per child (AIMA scale). (source)
    Spainnon-lucrative residence (no work)€2,400 a month
    €28,800 a year · from your own means
    +€600 spouse; +€600 per child400% of IPREM plus 100% per family member. To renew you must live in Spain more than 183 days a year. (source)
    Italyelective residence (passive income, no work)€2,583.33 a month
    €31,000 a year · passive income, not from work
    +€2,583.33 spouse; children: not stated€31,000 a year for each visa applicant, spouse included. No child uplift on the official page. (source)
    Francevisitor (no work)€1,477.93 a month
    €17,735.19 a year · net
    spouse: not stated; children: not statedNet minimum wage for one person (€17,735.19 a year on the official page); no family uplift on the official page. (source)
    Austriasettlement permit without work (quota)€2,616.78 a month
    €31,401.36 a year · after rent and other regular costs
    +€1,511.46 spouse; +€403.76 per childQuota place and German at first application needed; no work. (source)
    Greecefinancially independent person (no work)€3,500 a month
    €42,000 a year · stable income
    +€700 spouse verify; +€525 per child verify3-year permit, renewable for 3 years; no work for you or your family. (source)
    Cyprusvisitor permit (no work)€2,000 a month
    €24,000 a year · remittances from abroad
    +€400 spouse; +€300 per child+20% for a spouse, +15% per child (official checklist). Cyprus is not in Schengen. (source)
    Cyprusincome test of the €300,000 investor route€4,166.67 a month
    €50,000 a year · secure income from abroad
    +€1,250 spouse; +€833.33 per child€50,000 a year + €15,000 spouse + €10,000 per child, on top of the €300,000 investment. (source)
    IrelandStamp 0, independent means (no work)€4,166.67 a month
    €50,000 a year · per person
    +€4,166.67 spouse verify; children: not stated€50,000 a year per person plus a lump sum for major costs. Ireland is not in Schengen. (source)

    Also exist, without a published figure: Germany (a discretionary permit), Luxembourg (income from a pension or from work in another EU country), Latvia (retirees from visa-free countries, since 15 Sep 2026), Bulgaria (pensioners), Croatia (“other purposes”, up to a year, not extendable), Poland and Slovenia — 15 countries with the eight above. The sixteenth is Malta, whose Global Residence and Retirement programmes give a tax status to people who rent or buy a home there; they close to new applicants after 31 December 2026.

    What to know

    • Most of these permits require you to actually live there: Spain's renewal needs more than 183 days a year in Spain. Living there that long usually also makes you tax-resident there (facts, not advice).
    • Cyprus and Ireland are not in Schengen.
    • Thresholds tied to a minimum wage or index change every January; official pages are sometimes a year behind (Portugal's still shows €870).

    Buying a home instead? Four EU countries still give residence for a property purchase — residency by buying property. Malta also accepts renting a home for at least €14,000 a year with the same programme fees — see Malta.

    Before you rely on this: what to confirm

    These points rest on a law firm, a commercial source or a single source, or the official page could not be read. Ask a licensed lawyer to confirm them against the official tariff or law before you pay anything.

    • Greece: the +20% / +15% family uplift is in the law for digital nomads (art. 68); for the financially independent permit the law sets no percentage — ask the consulate what it expects for your family.
    • Ireland's figure for a couple (€100,000) — a law firm's reading of “per person”.
    • Italy: children are not covered by the €31,000 figure — ask the consulate.
    • Austria: whether a quota place is free this year.

    Questions people ask

    How much income do I need to retire in the EU as a non-EU citizen?

    On official pages: €920 a month in Portugal (D7, 2026), €1,477.93 net in France, €2,400 in Spain (non-lucrative), €2,616.78 in Austria (quota), €3,500 in Greece, €31,000 a year per applicant in Italy and €50,000 a year per person in Ireland.

    Can I work on an own-income permit?

    Usually not: Spain's non-lucrative, Italy's elective residence, France's visitor, Austria's and Greece's permits exclude work.

    How much passive income do you need for a D7 Visa in Portugal?

    At least €920 a month (€11,040 a year) for one person in 2026 — Portugal's minimum wage — plus 50% (€460) for each further adult and 30% (€276) per child. The figure follows the minimum wage, so it usually changes each January.

    How much money do you need in the bank for a non-lucrative visa in Spain?

    In Spain, €2,400 a month for the main applicant and €600 for each family member, for the whole period of the permit: €28,800 for one year alone, €36,000 for a couple. It can be savings or a regular income.

    Can I get residency in Spain if I buy a house?

    No — Spain's golden visa, including the €500,000 property option, was repealed from 3 April 2025 (Organic Law 1/2025). Buying a home in Spain now gives no residence right; people who will not work there can apply for the non-lucrative permit instead.